The rest of September

So, I met all my goals for September except the one about saving money for my girls trip shopping extravaganza. So here’s my plan for that:

Live as cheaply as possible. I’m talking major lock-down mode. No eating out, no spending money on clothes or earrings or anything else. Gas and groceries. That’s it.

Here’s my plan on how to keep myself entertained:

1. Work out. I have my new gym membership and am seriously loving my boxing classes. So far I’ve been managing to go to 2 a week. So the plan is to keep that up and even add a few more classes if I really get bored during a week day.

2. Watch TV on Netflix. There are a few series that I have been wanting to start watching and just haven’t. And luckily for me, my dear friend has given me permission to use her password to stream whenever I want. On tap for this week is Breaking Bad and then I’m going to start Friday Night Lights. I’ve heard such amazing things about these shows, so I might as well get cracking at this!

3. I have enough groceries to make tater-tot casserole, grilled cheese and soup, frozen curry and brown rice and gluten free mac and cheese. This can probably last me two weeks?

4. Read. Right now I’m reading a book called Little Bee and it’s about a refugee from Nigeria. It’s actually really interesting. So instead of going out for happy hour, I think I’m going to have to hunker down and finish this book. I also have Life of Pi and Cold Tangerines waiting on my bookshelf for me to get to. Along with a few other non-fictions I have yet to pick up.

5. I am committing to you to post about how much money I spend on entertainment (including dinners out, happy hours, red-box rentals, whole foods salad bar and starbucks stops, etc). I know it’s impossible for me to spend $0.00 in between now and my girls trip, especially because my birthday falls in between there. But, I want it to be a small amount of money. The smaller the better.

6. Skype and Facetime is free. So if you live in a different city, please expect an email from me setting up a “date” to skype of facetime 🙂

So, I am officially entering major lock-down mode. If you want to hang out with me, think of the cheapest entertainment option before calling. This could actually end up being a very productive few weeks for me. I leave for San Antonio on October 12th, so I have 3 weeks to really challenge my level of discipline. I can probably do it, right? We shall see!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The rest of September”

  1. Megan Clark says :

    Here’s my list in response to yours:
    1. Breaking Bad: totally bizarre. I made it through three episodes and just can’t keep going.
    2. I need books! Bring me any your done with when you come to SATX!
    3. Speaking of San Antonio, you actually come only TWO weeks from now. Not three. (Is that good or bad?)

  2. Samantha says :

    Megan! I wrote this post 5 days before posted, so at the time it was three weeks. And now it’s less than 1 week! Yahoo! I will bring you my two books I read, they were pretty good. So So So excited to see you 🙂

Leave a comment