I made UCLA Med my *beeeeeep

I told you that another goal I had for September was to pay that stupid medical bill that was not my fault, right? And I think I also told you that my plan was to have my insurance company call UCLA med and tell them why they weren’t paying the claim. (Because UCLA med failed to provide the right paper work). So, I finally got up the courage to do this.

And basically, it worked. I had my insurance lady call the provider while I was on the phone and I listened in to the entire conversation and chimed in where I could. UCLA had in their records that they didn’t pay because of a pre-existing condition or something. (I’m sorry, I’m pretty sure Obama care says you still have to pay anyways).

However, my insurance lady said, Actually that’s incorrect. We aren’t paying because we never got this piece of paper from you.” And then UCLA said, “Well we have in our records that you never got the piece of paper from the patient” And the insurance lady said, “No that’s incorrect. We have everything we need from the patient (me). We are missing paper work from you. But even if we got the paper work now, we still wouldn’t pay because you waited too long to send it.”

So then UCLA said, okay I need to transfer this back to the department of whatever. And so then I chimed in and said, “So, this is the patient. I have a question. What happens after that? Are you sending the bill back to me?” And she said, “No, ma’am. At this point I’m transferring it out of your responsibility.”

Hollar! I totally owned them. (I have to be honest, I’m totally nervous writing about this because I feel like I’m going to jinx myself and UCLA is going to send the bill back to me. Those bastards). But so far, so good. I’m really hoping I never have to think about this again.

And the moral of the story, kids, is this: Don’t give up. I dealt with my anxiety and nervousness about calling them, but it saved me $450.00. Praise Jesus.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment