Momma said knock you out

So, I joined a gym again. I needed to find an exercise that I actually enjoy doing, because slaving away on the elliptical at my office was not cutting it. And I have become a serious whale. I wouldn’t be surprised if barnacles started attaching themselves to me. It’s ridiculous.

Seriously, nobody tells you that when you turn 30, your body is going to completely start hating you. Not only did I become super emotional all the freaking time, but my metabolism just stopped. I’ve been having some serious tummy issues, which I’ll tell you about later, but I’ve basically stopped eating. And I’m still gaining weight! WTF. That is all I have to say to every year I get older. WTF.

So the gym I joined is called GymBox and they have cardio equipment and free weights, but also a wide variety of boxing classes, yoga, spin and zumba. I think having a place that provides a variety like that is probably the key to my success. I just get so bored and then I don’t want to do it anymore. Plus, who likes to run? I know a lot of people do. But I guess that’s just not the way God made me. Alas.

Anyways, the initial cost was $217.00, which included a $99 initiation fee and first and last months membership dues of $59/month. I don’t feel like $59 is a ridiculous amount of money to pay for a gym. Especially one that is small and offers a ton of classes. So my budgeting will have to start including this cost. Hell I pay $59/month for my Massage Envy membership. And that’s definitely not helping me lose weight.

So overall I feel really good about this spend. Hopefully I’ll be back to my adequately hot self in no time 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Momma said knock you out”

  1. Megan Clark says :

    That’s a good deal, Sam! I hate running, too.

  2. Kathy Tetlock says :

    yeah, we need to find something we enjoy or we won’t do it very long. I forget the stats, but it takes something like 20 or 30 times to make something a habit (a good habit). It’s not fair that this doesn’t happen to men!

Leave a comment